HENRY YANG



Henry T. Yang is the chancellor of the University of California, Santa Barbara and a professor of mechanical engineering. He was formerly the Neil A. Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University, where he also served as the dean of engineering for ten years.

Dr. Yang is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and Academia Sinica, and a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering and the Russian Academy of Engineering. He is a Fellow of AIAA, ASEE, and ASME. He has authored or co-authored more than 180 articles for scientific journals, as well as a widely used textbook on finite element structural analysis.

He has received a number of recognitions for his research, teaching, and public service, including honorary doctorates from Purdue University, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Taiwan University, City University of Hong Kong, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, West Virginia University, and Hong Kong Polytechnic University; the Benjamin Garver Lamme medal from the American Society for Engineering Education; the 2008 Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics; and thirteen distinguished teaching awards.

Dr. Yang has served on scientific advisory boards for various government agencies. He is a past chair of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities and the Association of American Universities. He currently serves on the President's Committee for the National Medal of Science and the Kavli Foundation board, and is chairman of the board for the international Thirty Meter Telescope project. He is a trustee for King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) in Saudi Arabia, and serves on international academic advisory boards for South University of Science and Technology of China (SUSTC), Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), and Yenching Academy of Peking University (YCA).

Since 1996, he has served on the selection board for the Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation's HLHL Prize in Science and Technology.